Volunteering

There are a wide range of volunteering opportunities at Michael House School. Whether you are a parent, family member, ex-parent or would simply like to help out your help could be useful at our school. All volunteers who help during school days must be CRB checked.

As the volunteer co-ordinator I am trying to create a school database of what skills people have and what time they can give, so that we can ask for help more efficiently. I have made a list of places where volunteers are currently needed; see below.

Most of the volunteering opportunities are under the umbrella of a school team, with the co-ordinator keeping an eye on which things are in process and what needs doing. Below you can see the teams and team co-ordinator’s names.  Most teams ideally have 3-5 core members, with people to support them who they can draw on at specific times (like environment work days or publicity leaflet drops).

I look forward to all the support teams becoming stronger and thus better able to fulfil their roles.
If you have any questions or comments please talk to me or email:
s.black@michaelhouseschool.com. Thank You. Sigrid Black

Here you can view and download the Volunteer Form

 

Volunteer Vacancies

Team

Volunteer Vacancies

number

needed

Team

contact

School

Shop

  • open shop

  • look after shop

2-3

1-2

Susann Bell

Fundraising

  • active team members

  • some grant applications

  • administrative help with

fundraising pack

3-7

2-4

2

Grants

  • grant applications

  • grant research

3

Deborah Lynch

Publicity

  • put posters up

  • poster artists

  • man outside fairs & stalls

  • radio advertising

10

2

4-6

1-2

Imogen Beeston

Marketing

  • support members

  • prospectus copy collators

  • school flyer/leaflet designer

3-10

2

1

Visiting

Students

  • helpers to find host families

  • hosts with spare bedroom

(reimbursed)

1-2

3-20

Ian Stephenson

Ofsted

Inspection

  • on the day: welcoming/refreshments

  • space preparation:

cleaning & flowers

2-5

3-10

Ofsted Team

Newsletter

  • offer articles, photos,

art work

as appropriate

Lindsay Martin

First Aid

  • first aid trained people to be on call at fairs

4

Cheryl Winter

I.T.

  • I.T. support people

vacant

Environment

  • practical help –

especially Mondays & workdays

1-100

Deborah Lynch

Parent Liaison

  • help with welcome mornings for new parents

  • liaising with class reps

2-4

Melanie Eedle

Open Days & Guided Tours

  • back-up helpers from 8.15 to make coffee & put up display boards (Tuesdays)

  • refreshments & talking to interested families

2-3

Hester Machin

Not a team

  • cleaning handwork & art room – hoovering & mopping (once a term per person)

6-12

Sigrid Black

 

 

Team List

 

Our school is supported by many teams, some need more help than others (see list of volunteer vacancies above).If you can see yourself helping with any of these teams to support the team co-ordinator or possibly eventually take on a team co-ordinator’s role, please fill in the Volunteering form, contact the relevant team co-ordinator or me. Email:s.black@michaelhouseschool.com.

 Team Team Co-ordinator Email address:(if there is no email, contact enguiries@michaelhouseschool.com)
Teaching Appraisal Appraisal Team DB, HM, BS-J, IS
Disability co-ordination Bryden Stevenson Jones b.stevensonjones@michaelhouseschool.com
Schemes of Work Bryden Stevenson-Jones b.stevensonjones@michaelhouseschool.com
Special Educational Needs (SENCO) Bryden Stevenson-Jones b.stevensonjones@michaelhouseschool.com
Policies Cheryl Winter c.winter@michaelhouseschool.com
First aid Cheryl Winter c.winter@michaelhouseschool.com
School Fairs Cheryl Winter c.winter@michaelhouseschool.com
Early Years Chris Bosman c.bosman@michaelhouseschool.com
Social Networking Chris Bosman c.bosman@michaelhouseschool.com
Environment  inc. programme heating, maintain oil tank Deborah Lynch deborahannlynch@hotmail.com
Induction of new staff Denise Bryant d.bryant@michaelhouseschool.com
Assisted Fees Denise Bryant assisted_fees@michaelhouseschool.com
Child Protection Diane Bolsher d.bolsher@michaelhouseschool.com
Pastoral care Diane Bolsher d.bolsher@michaelhouseschool.com
Website Ewan Mathers webmaster@michaelhouseschool.com
Upper School (meetings) Hester Machin h.machin@michaelhouseschool.com
Cover timetable Hester Machin h.machin@michaelhouseschool.com
Exams Hester Machin h.machin@michaelhouseschool.com
Timetable and School Term Dates Hester Machin h.machin@michaelhouseschool.com
Fellowship Rep Hester Machin h.machin@michaelhouseschool.com
Open Days and Guided Tours Hester Machin h.machin@michaelhouseschool.com
Staff Meetings and School diary Hester Machin h.machin@michaelhouseschool.com
Risk assessments Ian Black i.black@michaelhouseschool.com
Basecamp account Ian Black for SMT i.black@michaelhouseschool.com
Crisis Management \ Emergency closure Ian Black for SMT i.black@michaelhouseschool.com
Health and safety Ian Phillips
Music Ian Stephenson i.stephenson@michaelhouseschool.com
Visiting Students Ian Stephenson i.stephenson@michaelhouseschool.com
Publicity Imogen Beeston publicity@michelhouseschool.com
Recruitment Jeremy Ball j.ball@michaelhouseschool.com
Parent handbook Jeremy Ball j.ball@michaelhouseschool.com
Teams Jeremy Ball for SMT j.ball@michaelhouseschool.com
Newsletter Lindsay Martin newsletter@michaelhouseschool.com
Administration Steve Ashford  enquiries@michaelhouseschool.com
Complaints Chris Bosman complaints@michaelhouseschool.com
Parent Liaison Melanie Eedle enquiries@michaelhouseschool.com
Stock cupboard Sigrid Black s.black@michaelhouseschool.com
Seasonal Festivals Sigrid Black s.black@michaelhouseschool.com
Volunteers Sigrid Black s.black@michaelhouseschool.com
Fire SMT smt@michaelhouseschool.com
Student teachers Steve Ashford enquiries@michaelhouseschool.com
School Shop Susann Bell enquiries@michaelhouseschool.com
IT Ian Black smt@michaelhouseschool.com
Admissions VACANT enquiries@michaelhouseschool.com
Lower School (meetings) Denise Bryant
Inspection Bryden Stevenson-Jones b.stevensonjones@michaelhouseschool.com
Staff Development and Mentoring Zoe Burns z.burns@michaelhouseschool.com
Marketing Zoe Burns marketing@michaelhouseschool.com
After School Club Zoe Ruwette